## CENTRAL UNIVERSITY OF ODISHA, KORAPUT OFFICE OF THE PUBLIC RELATIONS PRESS RELEASE, DATE: 12.03.2025

## **CUO Observes Classical Language Day for Odia Language**

The Central University of Odisha observed the Shashtriya Bhasa Divas (Classical Language Day) for Odia language on 11 March 2025 at its Campus. On this day in 2014 Odia language was declared as sixth classical language by the Govt. of India. On the occasion the Vice Chancellor of the University Prof. Chakradhar Tripathi congratulated the University community and said that we should cherish our glory as Odia being recognised as an old language. Organised by the Department of Odia Language and Literature of CUO, the meeting was graced by the dignitaries including Prof. N. C. Panda, Dean, School of Language and Literature as Chief Guest, Prof. Bharat Kumar Panda, Professor of Education as Chief Speaker, Prof. Rathikanta Kumbhar, Prof. of Economics as Guest of Honour and Dr. Pradosh Kumar Swain, Head I/c of Odia Department, who also presided over the meeting.

Speaking on the occasion Prof. Panda said that language is humanity and Odia language is well appreciated and accepted by all the people irrespective of their own language. Due to the pure culture of Odia people and due to the worldwide acceptance of Lord Jagannath, Odia language is cherished everywhere. We should work together for glorifying our language, he urged. Prof. Kumbhar the language will be more accepted if we would spread our wings and popularise the language among the non-Odia speaking people. Prof. Panda hoped that as NEP has been introduced in our University, Odia language will get its acceptance among all the students and stakeholders, he said. Dr. Swain presided over the meeting and explained the purpose of observing this day. On the occasion other faculty members also proposed their views. They are Dr. Chakradhar Pradhan from Hindi Department, Dr. Alok Baral, Dr. Ganesh Prasad Sahu and Dr. Satya Sadangi from Odia Department, Dr. Pradosh Kumar Rath, Dr. Sourav Gupta and Shri Sumit Kumar Behera from the Department of Journalism & Mass Communication. Dr. Raghunath Ojha proposed the Vote of Thanks. The meeting was attended by faculty members, staff, students and research scholars of the University.

Dr. Phagunath Bhoi, Public Relations Officer